Asset management, definition, explanation

What is Asset Management? – Definition and Solutions

Definition of asset management

The term asset management is synonymous with wealth management. As a financial service provider, an asset manager manages the assets of his or her clients. The task includes not only providing professional advice, but also making investment decisions based on each client’s investment strategy, risk tolerance and financial situation. Asset management is aimed at wealthy private and institutional investors who invest their assets in liquid asset classes (equities) and illiquid asset classes (funds).

In this age of digitization, new ways of managing assets are emerging. Technology-based asset management solutions enable investors to obtain a greater degree of transparency for their investments in line with modern requirements.

In this article, the following aspects will be examined in greater detail:

1. What is asset management?
2. Why do you need asset management?
3. What are asset management solutions?
4. Summary

What is asset management? 1

The term asset management is synonymous with wealth management. As a financial service provider, an asset manager manages the assets of his or her clients. The task includes not only providing advice, but also making investment decisions based on the client’s investment strategy, risk tolerance and financial situation. Asset management is aimed at wealthy private and institutional investors who invest their assets in liquid asset classes (equities) and illiquid asset classes (funds).

Institutional Investors

Institutional investors are institutions that engage in capital market activity alongside private investors (small investors). Institutional investors can have a noticeable impact on the financial market due to the volume of investments they undertake. In their capacity as legal entities, they invest funds on behalf of third parties, always taking into account the best economic interests of those parties. Their professional qualifications and sound experience enable them to make investment decisions in accordance with specifically defined objectives. Institutional investors include pension funds, insurance companies, capital management companies, family offices, foundations and credit institutions.

 

Private Investors

Private investors are persons who invest in financial products identified as being suitable for them, based on in-depth advice. Private investors, also known as retail investors, are subject to special investor protection. Asset managers have a duty to advise private investors more comprehensively than institutional investors and to document all discussions in full. The aim is to create transparency with regard to both the costs and the risks that an investment entails.

 

Why asset management? 2

Asset managers efficiently allocate capital by investing monies provided by private and institutional investors in productive investments.

Institutional Investors

Institutional investors have the competence and expertise required to make investments. Their own in-house departments develop and implement investment strategies tailored to the institution’s requirements. Their expertise includes strategic structuring, executing transactions and actively managing the institution’s portfolio. Since institutional investors invest large volumes of funds belonging to organizations such as banks, investment funds, insurance companies, etc., their investment decisions often have a significant impact on financial market developments. Institutional investors are subject to both internal and legally prescribed investment guidelines, which limit the risk of the investment and at the same time ensure returns and liquidity in the best interest of the institution.

 

Private Investors

Private investors pay for know-how and expertise by commissioning an asset manager to manage their investments on their behalf, obviating the need for tedious, time-consuming familiarization with the complex capital investment market. Investment decisions are made and pursued in accordance with the asset manager’s investment objectives. The personal needs of the private investor are taken into account when compiling the portfolio (e.g. environmental, social and governance (ESG) funds). Analyses and standardized reports keep the private investor up to date and serve as a basis for regular discussions and any changes of strategy. Private investors are protected against fraud, misleading offers and cheating by numerous laws.

 

What are asset management solutions? 3

Asset management solutions are software-based products that help investors to structure their assets, make investment decisions and manage their portfolio. Investors have a variety of options at their disposal:

Insourcing

Insourcing means purchasing and utilizing software-based products in-house. In order to efficiently transact, analyze and manage their investments, investors can make use of a variety of IT products and software solutions that are freely available on the market. They use externally developed asset management solutions that they introduce, familiarize themselves with and operate independently on an in-house basis. Product training courses enable investors to become experts in their own right. By continuously developing the products, investors can regularly expand their knowledge and screen the market for better products. In order to manage their assets successfully, investors often need several IT products, which then need to be linked to one another, leading to additional work and expense. Moreover, the required interfaces often do not exist, which means that the various IT products have to coexist separately without compatibility.

Outsourcing

Outsourcing involves the application of software-based products by a service provider or asset servicer. Rather than operating IT products independently of one another, the investor can employ the services of a modern asset servicer. The service provider accesses the investor’s data and imports them into its systems, tailored for the sector concerned. Depending on client requirements, the service provider supplies evaluations, analyses, reports and workflows and makes them available to each individual client via portals with interactive capabilities. Clients therefore do not need to laboriously and resource-intensively familiarize themselves with the IT products they have selected but benefit from state-of-the-art solutions applied by the asset servicer, which can be custom-designed to suit each client’s individual needs.

As a next generation asset servicer, AssetMetrix offers private capital investors services that optimally support them and ease their workload throughout the entire investment process using advanced technologies. Investors can select from a variety of modules that provide sophisticated asset management solutions for front, middle and back office functions. AssetMetrix leverages a range of customized solutions for investors. Each individual customer has access to the complete range of data, evaluations, analyses, reports and workflows around the clock via a dedicated portal. Clearly defined access rights enable internal and external interfaces to access the data individually and create transparency both quickly and reliably. In addition to an outstanding level of service, investors also benefit from a technology that is continuously being enhanced. Updates are implemented without additional effort for the investor, new applications or tools are introduced both extensively and comprehensibly.

Data input: AssetMetrix takes care of the labor-intensive input of all the data relevant to your portfolio on your behalf. It also validates the data and stores it centrally as a "Single Source of Truth".
Digital data processing: After the portfolio and market data have been collected and validated, the AssetMetrix IT system automatically processes the data.
Client output: After the portfolio and market data have been processed, all the analyses and reports are made available to the client via the AssetMetrix web portal.

Summary 4

The term asset management is synonymous with wealth management. An asset manager manages the assets of his or her clients. Asset management is aimed at wealthy private and institutional investors who invest their assets in both liquid and illiquid asset classes. Whereas private investors buy know-how and expertise by commissioning an asset manager, institutional investors have the necessary expertise and experience to transact investments in their own right. Asset managers leverage a range of solutions that are available to them to manage their activities, which are primarily software-based products that help investors to structure and transact their investments and manage their portfolios. Investors can purchase these IT solutions and use them for their own purposes, i.e. insourcing. To avoid having to independently operate this array of IT products, investors can also employ the services of a modern asset servicer, i.e. outsourcing.

Are you interested in the advantages that outsourcing offers? Please allow us to introduce you to our services.

AssetMetrix is Europe’s leading next generation asset servicer for private capital investors. Based on innovative financial technologies, AssetMetrix offers modular outsourcing solutions for front, middle and back office activities for Limited Partners and General Partners alike. Our clients benefit from state-of-the-art analysis tools, a service-oriented corporate culture and our independence. AssetMetrix does not act as an investor, investment advisor or placement agent.

Application

Join our team!

We look forward to receiving your application and will be happy to answer any questions you may have.

Sabine Linder, Personnel Officer
+49 89 543 28 80 404

Vacancies

Portal demo

Test the portal?

We will show you the AssetMetrix portal with all its functionalities.

And discuss how we can help you meet your targets.

Arrange a demonstration>

Asset Management, Definition, Erklärung

Was ist Asset Management? – Definition und Lösungen

Definition Asset Management

Der englische Begriff Asset Management steht für Vermögensverwaltung. Dabei übernimmt ein Vermögensverwalter als Finanzdienstleister die Betreuung des Anlagevermögens seiner Kunden. Diese umfasst nicht nur beratende Tätigkeiten, sondern auch Investitionsentscheidungen, die auf Basis der Anlagestrategie, der Risikobereitschaft und der Vermögenslage des Kunden getroffen werden. Asset Management richtet sich an vermögende private und institutionelle Investoren, die ihr Vermögen in liquide Anlageklassen (Aktien) und illiquide Anlageklassen (Fonds) investieren.

Im Zeitalter der Digitalisierung entstehen neue Möglichkeiten, die Assets zu managen bzw. verwalten. Durch Einsatz technologiebasierter Asset-Management-Lösungen können Investoren mehr Transparenz ihrer Anlagen erhalten und den modernen Ansprüchen gerecht werden.

Dazu sollen in diesem Beitrag folgende Aspekte genauer beleuchtet werden:

1. Was ist Asset Management?
2. Warum benötigt man Asset Management?
3. Was sind Asset-Management-Lösungen?
4. Zusammenfassung

Was ist Asset Management? 1

Der englische Begriff Asset Management steht für Vermögensverwaltung. Dabei übernimmt ein Vermögensverwalter als Finanzdienstleister die Betreuung des Anlagevermögens seiner Kunden. Diese umfasst nicht nur beratende Tätigkeiten, sondern auch Investitionsentscheidungen, die auf Basis der Anlagestrategie, der Risikobereitschaft und der Vermögenslage des Kunden getroffen werden. Asset Management richtet sich an vermögende private und institutionelle Investoren, die ihr Vermögen in liquide Anlageklassen (Aktien) und illiquide Anlageklassen (Fonds) investieren.

Institutionelle Investoren

Unter institutionellen Investoren versteht man Institutionen, die neben privaten Anlegern (Kleinanlegern) am Kapitalmarkt aktiv sind und den Finanzmarkt aufgrund ihres Investitionsvolumens merklich beeinflussen können. Als juristische Person investieren sie fremde Gelder unter Berücksichtigung der wirtschaftlichen Interessen der Eigentümer. Aufgrund ihrer fachlichen Qualifikation und fundierten Erfahrung können sie Anlageentscheidungen nach eigens definierten Anlagezielen treffen. Zu institutionellen Investoren zählen u.a. Pensionskassen bzw. Versorgungswerke, Versicherungen, Kapitalverwaltungsgesellschaften, Family Offices, Stiftungen und Kreditinstitute.

 

Private Investoren

Private Investoren sind Personen, die ihr Vermögen nach ausführlicher Beratung in für sie geeignete Finanzprodukte investieren. Private Investoren, auch Privatanleger oder Retail-Anleger genannt, unterliegen einem besonderen Anlegerschutz. Vermögensverwalter müssen Privatanleger im Rahmen ihrer Anlageberatung umfassender beraten und die Gespräche lückenlos dokumentieren. Dabei gilt es, Transparenz über Kosten und Risiken einer Geldanlage zu schaffen.

 

Warum Asset Management? 2

Asset Manager realisieren eine effiziente Kapitalverteilung (Allokation), indem sie Gelder von privaten und institutionellen Investoren in produktive Anlagen investieren.

Institutionelle Investoren

Institutionelle Investoren verfügen über die für die Kapitalanlage nötige Kompetenz und Expertise. Eigene Abteilungen kümmern sich um die Ausarbeitung und die Umsetzung einer Investmentstrategie, die auf das Anforderungsprofil der Institution zugeschnitten ist. Das Kompetenzspektrum reicht dabei von der strategischen Strukturierung der Anlagen, über die Investition selbst bis hin zum aktiven Management des Portfolios. Da Institutionelle Investoren große Volumina von Institutionen wie z.B. Kreditinstitute, Investmentfonds, Versicherungen etc. anlegen, beeinflussen diese mit Investitionsentscheidungen das Geschehen an den Finanzmärkten oft merklich. Institutionelle Investoren unterliegen dabei internen bzw. gesetzlich vorgeschriebenen Anlagerichtlinien, die das Risiko der Anlage limitieren und gleichzeitig Rendite und Liquidität im Sinne der Institution sichern sollen.

 

Private Investoren

Private Investoren kaufen sich durch die Beauftragung eines Vermögensverwalters Know-how und Expertise ein. Mühsames, zeitintensives Einarbeiten in den komplexen Kapitalanlagemarkt entfällt. Anlageentscheidungen werden nach der Definition von Anlagezielen des Vermögensverwalters getroffen und verfolgt. Bei der Zusammenstellung des Portfolios können persönliche Bedürfnisse des privaten Investors berücksichtig werden (z.B. ESG). Analysen und standardisierte Berichte halten den privaten Investor auf dem Laufenden. Sie dienen als Grundlage für regelmäßig stattfindende Kundengespräche und etwaige Kursänderungen. Private Anleger unterliegen einem besonderen Anlegerschutz, der sie vor Betrug, irreführenden Angeboten sowie Übervorteilung bewahrt und durch zahlreiche Gesetze geregelt ist.

 

Was sind Asset-Management-Lösungen? 3

Unter Asset-Management-Lösungen versteht man softwarebasierte Produkte, die Investoren bei der Strukturierung ihrer Anlagen, der Investition als auch der Verwaltung des Portfolios unterstützen. Dabei stehen Investoren verschiedene Möglichkeiten zur Verfügung:

Insourcing

Eigener Erwerb und Anwendung von softwarebasierten Produkten: Um seine Anlagen effizient zu tätigen, zu analysieren und zu verwalten, kann der Investor auf am Markt angebotene IT-Produkte bzw. Software zurückgreifen. Er nutzt also externe Asset-Management-Lösungen, die er im Unternehmen einführt, erlernt und eigenständig bedient. Im Rahmen von Produktschulungen wird der Investor zum eigenen Experten. Durch die kontinuierliche Weiterentwicklung der Produkte muss der Investor sein Wissen regelmäßig erweitern und den Markt im Hinblick auf bessere Produkte screenen. Um den Anforderungen des Asset Managements gerecht zu werden, benötigt der Investor oft mehrere IT-Produkte, die er miteinander verknüpfen muss. Dies führt zu erneutem Aufwand. Oft fehlen auch nötige Schnittstellen, so dass eingeführte IT-Produkte separat, ohne Kompatibilität koexistieren.

Outsourcing

Anwendung softwarebasierter Produkte durch einen Dienstleister bzw. Asset Servicer: Um die eigenständige Bedienung der IT-Produkte zu umgehen, kann der Investor die Dienstleistungen eines modernen Asset Servicer in Anspruch nehmen. Dabei greift der Dienstleister auf die Daten des Investors zu und spielt diese in seine auf die Branche spezialisierten Systeme ein. Je nach Wunsch liefert er dem Kunden Auswertungen, Analysen, Berichte und Workflows und stellt diese auf modernen Portalen zur Interaktion zur Verfügung. Mühseliges und ressourcenintensives Einarbeiten in die gewählten IT-Produkte entfällt für den Kunden. Er profitiert von state-of-the-art Lösungen, die zur Anwendung kommen und je nach Kundenbedürfnis ausgestaltet werden können.

Als Next Generation Asset Servicer bietet AssetMetrix Private-Capital-Investoren Dienstleistungen bzw. Services an, die ihn auf Basis einer komplexen Technologie entlang des gesamten Investitionsprozesses optimal begleiten und entlasten. Dabei wählt der Investor unterschiedliche Module ausgereifter Asset-Management-Lösungen im Bereich Front, Middle und Back Office. Diese werden von AssetMetrix als Dienstleistung für den Investor angewendet. Alle Daten, Auswertungen, maßgeschneiderten Analysen und Berichte sowie Workflows stehen dem Kunden rund um die Uhr via Portal zur Verfügung. Dank definierter Zugriffsrechte können interne und externe Schnittstellen individuell auf die Daten zugreifen und sich schnell und zuverlässig Transparenz verschaffen. Neben dem hohen Servicegrad profitiert der Investor auch von einer Technologie, die kontinuierlich weiterentwickelt und zur Verfügung gestellt wird. Updates erfolgen ohne Aufwand für den Investor, neue Anwendungen oder Tools werden umfangreich und verständlich eingeführt.

Dateneingabe: AssetMetrix übernimmt für Sie die arbeitsaufwendige Eingabe aller für Ihr Portfolio relevanten Daten. Validiert alle Daten und speichert sie zentral als „Single Source of Truth“ ab.
Datenverarbeitung: Nach der Erfassung und Validierung von Portfolio- und Marktdaten erfolgt die automatische Datenverarbeitung im AssetMetrix-IT-System.
Output für Kunden: Nach der Verarbeitung der Portfolio- und Marktdaten stehen Ihnen alle Analysen und Berichte über unser Webportal zur Verfügung.

Zusammenfassung 4

Der englische Begriff Asset Management steht für Vermögensverwaltung. Dabei übernimmt ein Vermögensverwalter die Betreuung des Anlagevermögens seiner Kunden. Asset Management richtet sich an vermögende private und institutionelle Investoren, die ihr Vermögen in liquide und illiquide Anlageklassen investieren. Während sich private Investoren durch die Beauftragung eines Vermögensverwalters Know-how und Expertise einkaufen, verfügen institutionelle Investoren über die für die Kapitalanlage nötige Kompetenz und Erfahrung. Zur Bewältigung ihrer Tätigkeit stehen dem Vermögensverwalter Asset-Management-Lösungen zur Verfügung. Darunter versteht man softwarebasierte Produkte, die Investoren bei der Strukturierung ihrer Anlagen, der Investition als auch der Verwaltung des Portfolios unterstützen. Diese IT-Lösungen können eigens erworben und angewendet werden (Insourcing). Um die eigenständige Bedienung der IT-Produkte zu umgehen, kann der Investor die Dienstleistungen eines modernen Asset Servicer in Anspruch nehmen (Outsourcing).

Ist Outsourcing für Sie interessant? Gerne stellen wir Ihnen unsere Services vor.

AssetMetrix ist Europas führender Next Generation Asset Servicer für Private-Capital-Investoren. Auf Basis innovativer Finanztechnologie bietet AssetMetrix modulare Outsourcing-Lösungen für Front-, Middle- und Back-Office-Aktivitäten für Limited Partner und General Partner. Unsere Kunden profitieren von modernsten Analysetools, einer serviceorientierten Unternehmenskultur und unserer Unabhängigkeit. AssetMetrix agiert nicht als Investor, Anlageberater oder Placement Agent.

Bewerbung

Werden Sie Teil unseres Teams!

Wir freuen uns auf Ihre Bewerbung und
beantworten gerne weitere Fragen.

Sabine Linder, Personalreferentin
+49 89 543 28 80 404

Offene Stellen

Portal Demo

Portal testen?

Wir zeigen Ihnen das AssetMetrix-Portal mit all seinen Funktionalitäten.

Und eruieren gemeinsam mit Ihnen, wie wir Ihnen weiterhelfen können.

Demo vereinbaren